Douleur-Th-ZUFFEREY-04

Treatment strategy

The Swiss Pain Institute’s strategy involves carefully analysing the patient and their pain. This means that the patient benefits from a holistic approach to their discomfort all the way from initial diagnosis to treatment.

Our team do their utmost to understand each patient’s lifestyle and hopes so treatment offered is as relevant as possible. For example, a young sportsman experiencing localised pain is likely to follow an entirely different pathway to one taken by an elderly person.

We most often see:

 

 

Listen to the patient

When a person is in pain it can take over their whole life. Pain is difficult to explain and hard for other people and sometimes even for health professionals to understand. It can also have a significant psychological and social impact on the sufferer.

The Swiss Pain Institute uses a multidisciplinary approach with biomedical and, if necessary, psychosocial elements. Our initial focus is on listening carefully to the patient and understanding their life. This gives us a good understanding of how their pain presents and how it impacts their quality of life, enabling us to tailor treatment to suit. We adapt our approach to meet individual patient needs in a sustainable way.

Understand the pain

The initial consultation is with a pain doctor. We talk about your pain and your history and establish the different elements of the problem using a pre-appointment questionnaire. This consultation enables us to draw up a treatment plan together.

Some patients experiencing back pain will only need one or two diagnostic tests followed by minimally invasive treatment, while others will have to be seen by the whole team (including doctors, psychologists, physiotherapists, nurses and others). We refer to this as a biopsychosocial treatment model. It is important to take stock of the situation, understand all its aspects and decide on appropriate treatment and ways to manage the pain and resulting suffering.

We are ably assisted by a range of specialists in different fields including neurologists, rheumatologists, oncologists, neurosurgeons, general surgeons and orthopaedists.  They too share their expertise and give the patient attentive and comprehensive support to provide relief and improve quality of life.

Treat the pain

With cutting-edge equipment and innovative techniques at its disposal, the Swiss Pain Institute provides a variety of diagnostic and therapeutic services to achieve the best outcomes for pain sufferers at each stage of their journey, with every patient given an individual treatment package.

Throughout a patient’s time with us, the same specialist doctor will manage their treatment. This doctor is supported by a multidisciplinary team and, if necessary, by consultants in specific fields (physiotherapists, psychologists, psychiatrists, osteopaths, hypnotherapists and others). The patient’s local referring doctor is informed of all developments.

For persistent pain requiring further diagnostic testing (e.g. back pain), we often use minimally invasive approaches to determine the anatomical structure(s) causing the pain. Specific anaesthetic techniques are employed in these situations. We provide hypnosis, cognitive behavioural therapy, osteopathy, rehabilitation and other approaches in association with our consultants and specialist colleagues.

Diagnostic testing is often carried out in close collaboration with our physiotherapists. These specialists carefully examine the patient before and after the doctor’s tests to critically assess any changes. Treatment is also jointly carried out and discussed by our team and physiotherapists outside the Institute.

The Institute’s nurses offer patients constant support during their time with us. Patients are often inclined to share problems with these “listening ears” that they may not feel comfortable mentioning to the doctors. Such information can be key and is often subsequently integrated in the overall treatment plan. Our nurses also educate patients about their particular situation and about general health matters. The patient/nurse relationship is key to deepening the understanding of patients and their loved ones.

Douleur-Th-ZUFFEREY-04

Stratégie de prise en charge

La stratégie de l’Institut Suisse de la Douleur prend en compte le patient et ses maux de manière analytique. Le malade peut ainsi bénéficier d’une approche globale de sa souffrance, depuis le diagnostic initial jusqu’au traitement.

Notre équipe est très orientée sur le projet du patient et s’adapte autant que possible à son parcours. Un jeune patient sportif qui souffre d’une douleur localisée aura une demande et un parcours clinique probablement complètement différent d’une personne âgée.

Parmi les douleurs les plus fréquentes, nous pouvons citer:

 

Écouter le patient

La douleur peut prendre beaucoup de place dans une vie. Complexe à expliquer, difficile à comprendre par l’entourage et parfois par les professionnels de la santé, elle peut avoir un fort impact psychologique et social sur la personne qui souffre.

L’Institut Suisse de la Douleur adopte une démarche résolument pluridisciplinaire avec une approche à la fois biomédicale et – si nécessaire – psycho-sociale. Notre approche réside initialement en une écoute centrée sur le patient et son environnement. Cela permet de déterminer les caractéristiques de la douleur, son impact sur la qualité de vie du malade et aussi de personnaliser le suivi. On s’adapte ainsi aux besoins de la personne de façon durable.

Comprendre la douleur

Lors de la première consultation, le médecin de la douleur établira avec vous un plan de traitement. Nous parlons de vos douleurs, de votre histoire et précisons, à l’aide d’un questionnaire préalablement rempli, les différents aspects du problème. Cet entretien permet d’établir un plan de traitement en accord avec vous.

Si, pour certains, un problème de douleurs du dos ne nécessitera qu’une ou deux épreuves diagnostiques, puis un traitement minimalement invasif, d’autres auront besoin d’être vus par toute l’équipe (médecins, psychologues, physiothérapeutes, infirmières, entre autres). On parle alors de prise en charge bio-psycho-sociale. Il est essentiel, à ce moment-là, de faire un point dans le temps, de comprendre les différents aspects de la situation et d’orienter la prise en charge, la gestion de la douleur et de la souffrance associée.

Nous sommes assistés pour cela par des spécialistes de différents domaines, comme des neurologues, des rhumatologues, des oncologues, des neurochirurgiens, des chirurgiens généraux  ou encore des orthopédistes.  Avec nous, ils partagent leurs compétences et offrent au patient un encadrement complet et de proximité pour le soulager et améliorer sa qualité de vie.

Agir sur la douleur

Grâce à une stratégie individualisée, un matériel de pointe et des techniques innovantes, l’Institut Suisse de la Douleur propose un large éventail de prestations diagnostiques et thérapeutiques pour soigner au mieux la douleur, à chaque étape du suivi.

Un même médecin-spécialiste est référent du patient tout au long de sa prise en charge. Il est secondé par l’équipe pluridisciplinaire et, si nécessaire, par des médecins consultants issus de domaines spécifiques (physiothérapeute, psychologue, psychiatre, ostéopathe, hypnothérapeute, entre autres). Le médecin référent est systématiquement tenu informé.

Pour les douleurs persistantes qui nécessitent encore une précision diagnostique, par exemple pour des douleurs du dos, il est fréquent que l’on recoure à des approches minimalement invasives pour déterminer la ou les structures anatomiques génératrices de la douleur. C’est dans ces situations que l’on utilise des techniques anesthésiques spécifiques. Hypnose, thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, ostéopathie, réadaptation sont d’autres approches que nous offrons en collaboration avec nos consultants et collègues spécialisés.

Nos tests et épreuves diagnostiques sont souvent pratiqués en collaboration étroite avec nos physiothérapeutes. Ces spécialistes examinent avec précision le patient avant et après les tests effectués par le médecin, afin d’observer et de mesurer les changements obtenus avec un regard critique. Les traitements sont aussi conjointement menés et discutés avec notre équipe ainsi qu’avec le physiothérapeute extérieur à l’Institut.

Les infirmières de l’Institut sont un soutien constant pour le patient durant son parcours de soins. Très à l’écoute, elles discutent souvent avec les patients de problèmes que ces derniers ne partagent pas toujours avec les médecins. Ces informations souvent essentielles sont intégrées à l’approche thérapeutique globale. Elles tiennent aussi un grand rôle dans l’enseignement aux patients et dans le maintien de leur santé en général. La relation patient-infirmière est fondamentale pour la compréhension du malade et de son entourage social.